Revolution


32 “Therefore, everyone who will acknowledge Me before men, I will also acknowledge him before My Father in heaven. 33 But whoever denies Me before men, I will also deny him before My Father in heaven. 34 Don’t assume that I came to bring peace on the earth. I did not come to bring peace, but a sword. 35 For I came to turn

a man against his father,

a daughter against her mother,

a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law;

36 and a man’s enemies will be

the members of his household.

37 The person who loves father or mother more than Me is not worthy of Me; the person who loves son or daughter more than Me is not worthy of Me. 38 And whoever doesn’t take up his cross and follow  Me is not worthy of Me. 39 Anyone finding  his life will lose it, and anyone losing  his life because of Me will find it.

Matthew 10: 32-39 (HCSB)

Today, as Brent Higgins from AweStar Ministries spoke about the life and death of his son this verse kept coming back to me over and over. I really could not get it out of my mind.

Truly Jesus came to bring a revolution, not just a change of minds but a change of hearts. B.J. Higgins (Brent’s son) spent his life pursuing God and gained his life by losing it for God. He wanted God to be glorifies so much that he was willing to die for it. His story reminds me of my Grandad who told God he was willing to die to save his friends from hell, and God did exactly that! My Grandad and B.J. Higgins were both seeking to live the true life that God has called us to.

This life that God has called us to is not one of easy steps and green pastures but of craggy mountains and forbidding valleys. Right now, there are people taking up their crosses and being persecuted for their faith. I think that we in America, in our comfortable churches, have forgotten how to live! We call ourselves followers of Christ but we are afraid to truly follow Him! What does that make us, make me, if we don’t follow Him but say we do? Liars and cowards! God seeks to give us life and life abundantly through His Son Jesus but that does not mean we get to decide how it goes. What it means is that we take up our cross daily and die to ourselves!

How do we do this? We give everything we have for God, we lay it all down on the table. All of our talents, resources, fears, dreams, etc. and we say to God, “Do whatever You want with it, I don’t care! I just want to glorify you with it all!” Does that mean we may have to give up some things, to suffer a little, to not have everything we want? Jesus gave up glory in heaven, came down to earth, lived among us in humbleness, suffered, and died for us…so I think that means as His followers we may have to give up somethings.

In the passage before this one in Matthew Jesus talks about how we should fear not man but God and then goes into the passage above. He does this because I think He knew that one of our biggest hurdles as humans is fear. Read Matthew 10: 26-31 and pray for courage. Pray for courage for me!

All of us need to take a good hard look at our lives and see if we are taking our crosses up daily. Pray for me that I would take up my cross daily, die to myself, and have courage to follow God wherever he takes me. I will pray for you that God will strengthen his people and convict their hearts to follow Him. Let God lead us into His revolution, Amen!

 

Comments
One Response to “Revolution”
  1. Ruth M. Dowd says:

    Very good, Caleb. So glad to see you blogging again. God bless you and Rachel as you follow this mission.

Leave a Reply

